Zsitvaszentmárton - Martin nad ®itavou

The first mentioning in a written document of the settlement of Martin nad ®itavou dates back to 1272, still as an individual parish, it is declared in 1332. From 1386 it belongs to the Gímes Castle, and it is confiscated by the Royal Treasury in 1718 due to the of the Forgách family, to be later sold to Aranyosmarót (Zlaté Moravce). During the Turkish rule 16 households and 24 taxpayers are registered. The last owner of the village, as well as that of some parts of the surrounding lands, was Cardinal Count Migazzi Antal Kristóf. In 1792 he built the late baroque style Saint Martin Church, which was built in the vicinity of the Roman style church nearby that was destroyed. A one-nave church, with a shrine of rectangular layout, a straight ceiling, and an additional vestry, does not have a tower. The walls are plain, the facade is decorated with ornament-ended pilasters. Behind the main Virgin Mary altar can one see the late baroque painting of Saint Martin'sdeath. Legend has that the face of Saint Martin is in fact the portrait of Cardinal Migazzi himself. Another painting showing Saint Martin with the pauper, had been stolen, so it was replaced by a new painting in 1997.

Martin nad ®itavou (website)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!