Káptalantóti

In the Middle Ages, Káptalantóti had been the land of the Chapter of Győr. The church consecrated to Saint Martin is mentioned in old documents as early as 1272. Káptalantóti was burned down several times by the Turkish troops, but in the 18th century new inhabitants settled down here. The mediaeval church in the middle of the village, all in ruins in those times, was rebuilt in Baroque style between 1765 and 1773, with the support of Márton Padányi Bíró, Bishop of Veszprém. The tower was demolished in 1803 due tu a thunderbolt. The altarpiece shows Martin, in his Roman military attire, giving half of his red cloak to the pauper sitting on the ground. The painting was painted in 1828  painter Johann Nepomuk Kugler. The church was entirely renovated in 1940. The interior was painted in 1946. . The organ dates back to 1911, the bell to the 1920s.

Káptalantóti (web)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!