Zalaszentmárton
The village was named after the patron saint of its medieval church: St Martin. The first mention of Szentmárton dates back to 1266; it was in the ownership of the Hahót family until 1299. The estate passed into the ownership of the Szabari, then of the Bánffy family but in 1403 the Ostffys obtained ownership. The village was burnt down a number of times during the Turkish occupation of the country and, as a result, became deserted.
Its mediaeval church was also destroyed during Turkish times but after the end of Ottoman rule, it was transferred to the ownership of the Kapornak Abbey. Its modern-day church received a classicist extension to the medieval construction in 1860: a semicircular chancel and a frontal tower were added.

Map  (google maps)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!