Tótszentmárton

The village is first mentioned in a manuscript dated 1321 as "Sanctus Martinus': The name strongly suggests that the place must have had a parish, although the first references to the church appear only in 1374. The name of the village first appears in 1471 as "Zentmarton". The old village was destroyed along with the former church, and village was repopulated only after the end of the Turkish occupation. After 1696, Croat settlers arrived ín the village from the area over the River Mura; they have preserved their language and their traditions right up to the present day. The church, suffering great damages during the Turkish times, was renovated by the locals during the early 17005. The building was fully restored to its former glory only ín the last few decades of the 18th century. The present-day altarpiece of the church was prepared by Gyula Károlyi in 1949.

Tótszentmárton (web)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!