Szim§ - ZemnÚ

The settlement was mentioned for the first time as early as 1113, when the lands owned by the Zobor Abbey were recorted. True, in these documents the reference was made Gug. In 1245 the settlement fell into the ownership of Cardinal István Báncsa, Archbishop of Esztergom, later to attacked and sacked by the troops of Máté Csák in 1312, with only the church and the parish surviving the attack. The villagers took refuge in the marsh along the river Vág from the Turks and Tartars, in the very area where now Szim§ (Zimew) is located. During the Turkish raids the village had been sacked several times;  in these times 60 people out 44households were paying their dues. n 1704 during the revolution led by Rákóczi, the village is attacked by Austrian general Heister, after which the entire village is burnt to the ground. The inhabitants escaped to Gy§r, to return to their homes in 1728, whereupon they started building a new church, later consecrated to Saint Martin. The church was renewed in 1878, later in 1898. Between 2000 and 2006 it was refurbished: under the ciborium of the new Neo-Baroque wooden altar the staue of Saint Martin and the pauper can be seen. Saint Martin Scout Troop No. 31 was founded in 1993. Ányos István Jedlik famous inventor and physicist was in the village.

Szim§ (web)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Jßk

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!