Sóly

This small village was built along the stream called Séd, at the meeting point of the ancient Roman military roads. According to traditions, the war of 997 took place on the field lying between the villages Sóly and Királyszentistván. This was the battle in which Prince Stephen - fighting under the Saint Martin flag - and regiments of German Knights arriving for his help defeated Koppány. In 1998 they astablished a "Memorial Place for the Royaé Sword". A 15-meter tall copy in oak of "Saint Stephen"s Sword" kept in Prague was placed here. The copy was made by László Pintér of Veszprém. The church of Sóly is the oldest original Hungarian village church. Saint Stephen founded it in 1009 as votive chapel. The shrine of the church and the larger part of the nave was built at the beginning of the 11th century. The event was commemorated by the memoria erected in the centre of the village. Being used by the Reformed congragation since the 16th century, the church boasts a small pulpit on the North side, between the shrine and the nave. With the inscription indicating the year 1775.  The segments of the painted ceiling of the church dating back to 1724 and the gallery were taken in 1894 to the Museum of Applied Arts. The famous paper-mill having been in use since the 18th century, belonging to Cistercian Abbey of Zirc, which provided the Abbey with paper. Today,only the ruins of the church can be seen.

Sóly (web)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!