Rajka

 

 At the borders of the settlement some edifices of the Roman limes were found by archeologists. Its first church dedicated to the veneration of St Martin was built in the 13th century. Its tower was built above the walls of a Roman watchtower. In 1683, during the last campaign of the Turks against Vienna, the village was destroyed. From the medieval building nothing was left but the ogival, tracery windows of the tower, a fresco of the southern wall, and the monstrance niche from the 14th century. The church got its present form in Baroque times. One of the statue niches of the western front contains a statue of St Martin, the temple's name giving saint. The painting on the high altar depicts St Martin's glorification. At the bottom of the picture the following words can be read:  MARTINUS HIC PAUPER COELUM DIVES INGREDITUR HYMNUS COELESTIS HONORATUR. The rich decoration of the altars, their angel figures, the gilded sculptures of the saints show signs of a fully ripe Baroque. On both sides of the pulpit there are pictures showing bishops. One of them is probably St Martin offering a gold piece to a beggar who is lying before his feet. The other bishop is holding up a flaming heart and a crosier. On the ceiling before the choir the scene of Amiens can be seen. A marble board in the wall says that Franz Liszt's great-grandfather used to live in this village, and also his grandfather, Ádám Liszt, was born here.

Map  (google maps),  Rajka -website

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!