Nemeskolta

The history of the village goes back to the age of the Árpád dynasty. It was first mentioned in a document in 1280. The Koltai-Vidos family, playing an important role in the life of Vas County, originates from this village, mostly inhabited by lower noblemen. Their mansion house was built in the early 1800s in classicist style and was turned into a castle during the 1860s. Its last owner, Ms Maria Nemeth, was a celebrated opera singer between the two world wars. In 1935, a Hungarian film entitled "Hallo Budapest" was shot here. The church, erected to honour St Martin during the Middie Ages, was first mentioned in a document dated 1342. The small church was destroyed during a Turkish siege in the mid-1600s. The new church was built in the centre of the village in Romantic style based on the plans of Miklós Ybl in 1865. Its altarpiece depicts the glorified bishop, St Martin.

Map (google maps)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!