Nagytilaj
Nagytilaj's church, consecrated to pay tribute to St Martin, was built in the age of the Árpáds. Its fírst mention dates back to 1288. During the 16th century, the village fell victim to the war against the Turks.

A 1698 census describes the community's mediaeval church as a complete ruin standing outside the village. In 1754, the mediaeval arches were strengthened, the building received a new roof, and a wooden spire was added to the construction. At the end of the 19th century, the small church was demolished; its place is now marked with a cross with an inscription. The church standing in the centre of present-day Nagytilaj was constructed of the stones of the nearby Kemend Castle in 1882. Its altarpiece shows the famous episode of share it with a beggar. The fresco  of the church were painted by a native Szombathely artist, József Gál, in 1941.

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!