Kislapás - Malý Lapáš

Lapáš is mentioned as early as 1113, when the lands owned by the Zobor Abbey were recorted, and it was a vicarage as early as 1156. In the Middle Ages it had several landowners, such as the Juhász,the Toronyossy or the Ernyey families. The arid land called Egeri puszta as belonged to the settlement, to which belongs the castle itself and the Fin-de-Siecle style chapel consecrated to Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows. At the beginning of the 20th century the castle was owned by Johanna Jánoky-Rudnyánszky. Malý Lapáš (Kislapás is first mentioned in 1474, when by the division of the family estate it became an independent settlement by being cut off from Veľký Lapáš (Nagylapás). The inhabitants were primarily making a living by working the land, and by cultivating grapes. In 1570 the settlement was taken by the Turks, to whom in the 17th century 12 people  were paying taxes, out of 10 households. Saint Martin Chapel originally served as a funeral room in the local cemetery, only since 1968 have they held masses in the building. In the towerof the chapel there are two bells, which were transferred here from the one-time wooden belfry.  Built in 1999, Saint Martin Church is a modern building, with a fish-shaped layout. In the shrine a modern painting can be seen, portraying Saint Martin and the pauper.

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!