Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks. The Ják dynasty came to an end in the mid-1600s, and the building was handed over to Elderbach Berchtold, then later to the Erdődy family. The church, which had repeatedly suffered severe damage over the centuries, was restored between 1896 and 1904 by the National Board of Monument Protection. The two-storey St James Chapel, renowned for its four-foiled floor plan, was built around 1250-1260. It served as the community’s church as long as St George church was in Benedictine possession and was also used as a place of accommodation for pilgrims during the Middle Ages.

Attention! Visitors are warned that the pathway leading through the Szentpéterfa forest can only be walked during the day, as it is a wildlife management area.
 
Accommodations:

Jáki Turistaház / Hostel "Jáki" - Ják Szabadság tér Tel.: (36) 94 321-436 E-mail: takep2000@t-email.hu

Rusztikus Szálló / Hostel "Rusztikus" - Ják Szabadnép u. 32. Tel.: (36) 70 613-74-30 E-mail: nagy-tamas@optanet.hu

Vendégszoba / Guestroom - Saly Ferenc Ják Széchenyi u. 10.

Vendégszoba / Guestroom -Tóth Ernőné Ják Széchenyi u. 16. Tel.: (36) 94 356-305

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!