The village was first mentioned in manuscripts in 1389. The patron saint of the community is St Martin ofTours, and thus the village holds its parish feast on the day following St Martin's Day. Locals' respect towards their patron saint can also be captured in their traditions related to viticulture.
The church of Gsfa was erected in honour of St Martin in 1902, with the bequest of the deceased László Mazzag and his wife, Julianna Balogh to the church. A statue of the saint can be seen on the altarpiece of the church. The other St Martin statue, standing in the Millennium Park, was prepared by Attila Kovács and inaugurated in 2001. It is worth visiting the Local History Collection in the former school building erected in 1872 and operating up until 1979.

Gsfa (web)

Nézze meg galériánkat!


Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....



Contribute and show Your experience!
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!