Felsőzélle - Horné Zelenice

The village Horné Zelenice (Felsőzélle) is mentioned first in a document dated 1244. The local population were dealing with growing crops and cultivating grapes. It had been the estate of the Hont-Pázmány family, later to belong to the Szolgagyőr castle, then, from 1400 to the Galgóc estate. This is when the village was given the right to organize market-days. The landowners from this time became the Sipeky, the Rudnay, the Zay and the Ocskay families.

The church named after the Bishop Saint Martin was mentioned as early as 1332, at the records of the papal tithe.The church was built in 1265in Romanesque style, the Patron being the Archbishop of Esztergom. In the 17th century the Roman Catholics took over again. In 1764 two naves were built to the church,and the style is converted into baroque style. The main altar ornated by the statue of the Bishop Saint Martin was made by a craftsman from Galgóc (Hlohovec).

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!