Donja Voĉa

The Presbytery of Donja Voĉa was first mentioned under the name "Parochia antiqua - Ecclesia S. Martini apud Woycha", in 1334, when the first complete census of the presbyte ries of the Zagreb Diocese was conducted. The church ofVoéa has a single nave with two chapels on each side. The church has been rebuilt a number oftimes; it received its present-day baroque form only in the second half of the 18th century. Its 41-metre-high spire was also built in baroque style, and the building itself is surrounded by a wall. In the parish church, visitors can see two large altarpieces depicting St Martin. The first one shows Martin as bishop, and its original place must have been the former main altar. The second picture shows Martin as Roman soldier and depicts the famous Division of the Cloak. The same scene can be seen on the fac;ade of the belfry of the parish church, apainting completed during the latest restoration in the late 20th century.

 

Donja Voĉa (online)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!