Csöde

The modest ruins of the mediaeval St Martin Church of Csöde can be found to the west of Alsócsöde, deep in a little forest, and atop a small hill. In 1366, the church and the adjacent monastery were in the ownership of the Salomvári family, the descendants of Bailiff Solomon. At the foot of the hill, a small village named Szentmárton evolved during the 15th century. After the tragic battle of Mohács in 1526, the vicars of the church stayed in office, but following the fall of Kanizsa Castle in 1600, an event following which the inhabitants of the region were compelled to pay taxes to the provosts of the Ottoman Empire, the building was abandoned and fell into decay. In 1657, the stones of the "bleak sacred church", as the locals referred to it, were transported at the order of Captain Bernát Csányi to use them for the fortification of the church in Őriszentpéter. The site is now fully covered by trees; only the name of a nearby village, Barátosa (friars) reminds us of the ancient monastery and its inhabitants.

Map (maps.google.hu)

Szálláshelyek

   Accommodations / Szálláshelyek / Ubytovanie - Csöde

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!