This village is famed for its wood-carvers. The Roman Catholic Church of St Kozma and St Damján was built in 1836. The nave was painted during 1941 – 1942 by Gábor Döbrentey, the artist born in Szombathely, depicting Hungarian saints in six monumental frescos. In Döbrentey’s interpretation Saint Martin opens the line of Hungarian saints, giving his cape to a beggar outside the gates of Amiens. On the next fresco, the very same cape is now covering the shoulders of Saint István. The series covering the south wall of the nave is concluded with a picture of Saint Margit entering Nyulak szigete [Isle of Hares]. Frescos on the north wall of the nave show Saint Imre meeting Saint Mór, Saint Erzsébet with roses, and the Legend of Saint László striking water from the rock.


The old Schoolhouse gives home to the folklor, school-history and wood-carving exhibitions.

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....



Contribute and show Your experience!
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!