Barnag

The settlement came into being by uniting Magyar- and Németbarnag in 1947. Magyar- or Nagybarnag was first mentioned in 1284. In 1472 it was owned by Pál Kinizsi, General of King Matthias. During the Turkish rule, it had been deserted, to be re-settled after 1735, with the new settlers beeing of the reformed church. Német - vagy Kisbarnag village was owned by the Zichy family. The settling of the village was done in 1726 by Germans of the Roman Catholic religion. The local parish was organized in 1733. The church consecrated to Saint Martin was also built at this time. The local school started functioning in 1739. The altarpiece is portraying the Immaculate Conception. The side-chapel on the right displays the patron saint of the chuch, Saint Martin, with the sharing of the cloak at Amiens. The painting was made by Keszthely artist Gyula Károly, in 1967. In the vicinity of the village, near the place of the former cemetery of Németbarnag, a Calvary with nice layout, with baroque chapel and stations built by local families in 1798 can be seen.

Roman Catholic Parish - Nemesvámos

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!