Ácsteszér

The settlement is situated in a picturesque setting at the northern side of the foot of the Bakony Hills. First it is mentioned in documents dating from 1392. In the mediaeval village the original settlers were migratory capenters, tradition has it that this is also zhe origin of the village's name. The village was completely deserted during the Turkish dominion. In the 17th century the Esterházy family became the owner of the village and the new owner moved German settlers to the deserted homes. Mihály Táncsics, writer and journalist and hero of the 1848 revolution was born here on 21st April, 1799, and he lived here until the age of 20. He is descriping the years he spent in his native village in his autobiographical novel "Életpályám". The house were he was born, is a rural baroque style, and is today a memorial house. The parish church of the village was founded in 1785. The first priest was Paszkál Francsics. The catholic church located in the middle of the settlement, built in late baroque style, was built between 1792-94. The satue of the patron saint, Saint Martin was made in the 19th century, and can be seen on the main altar of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, next to the statues of Saint Sabastien, Saint Vendel and Saint Florian.

Ácsteszér (web)

Nézze meg galériánkat!

 

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!