A St Martin memorial place was inaugurated
11 June 2011 in Nick near the “artificial dam” (Műgát).

The relief, standing on the bank of the River Rába, shows a rarely depicted episode of the St Martin legends. Martin passed away on 8 November 397 AD in Candes where he had travelled to make peace among some quarrelsome monks. The body of the aged bishop was carried down the River Loire from Candes to the city of Tours. Folk legend has it that as the boat was travelling; trees on the banks were blossoming. This is the reason why nice autumn weather is sometimes referred to as St Martin’s summer. The relief is the work of woodcarver János Vörös and it can be found along the St Martin footpath leading to Répcelak.

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!
Galleries
Ják

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....

 

 

Photos
Contribute and show Your experience!
Community
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!