The community was the home of guards stationed along the Kerka Stream between the 11th and 14th centuries. Today’s Kerkáskápolna is mentioned in 15th century documents as Alkarika or Kápolnásfalu. In the 1500s it was one of the most densely populated villages in the Őrség region, which could also boast a church (i.e. the word ‘chapel’ does not necessarily refer to a small-sized church). In 1612 both the village and its church fell prey to the Turks’ fire and on their return, the inhabitants replaced the old church with a smaller wooden construction that, yet again, got destroyed in the first half f the 18th century. The locals of the village have been Calvinists since the mid-1500s. The area to the north of the village used to be a vineyard until the early 1900s, with its own traditional rules. That St Martin was held in great respect is illustrated by the fact that the locals held “council meetings” around St Martin day. The minutes of these meetings, held on the vineyard hill, are valuable edifices of local history.

Referred to as Dobraföld until 1895. The origin of the name is uncertain; it may refer to a person or to an estate once belonging to the castle of Dobra. Along with Ramocsa, it is one of the smallest settlements having a connection with the St Martin tradition; its inhabitants are fewer than 30. Its wooden church was built in 2010.

A village located near the Kerka Stream. It is most likely to have been a community of guards stationed along the stream up until the end of the 14th century. It was mentioned as Ramcha in 1378. During the Ottoman rule in the 1600s the place was destroyed more than once. Among the community’s current inhabitants we can find both Calvinists and Catholics: the top of the new belfry tower raised in 1993 the Calvinists’ star and the Roman Catholics’ cross are depicted next to each other.

Kerkáskápolna is a station located along Via Sancti Martini, which leads to Tours, France. This pilgrimage road pays tribute to a major saint in European Christianity, St Martin, who was born in Savaria, today’s Szombathely, in either 316 or 317 AD. Martin was passing through this area when he left his hometown to visit first Italy then Gallia. As a soldier he met a beggar at the gates to the city of Amiens, and he tore his cloak in two and gave one half to the beggar to express his sympathy with the poor and the needy. Later he left the army and set out on a route of pilgrimage; he organised Christian communities and founded a monastery. On his return to Savaria he converted his mother to Christianity.
In 371 he was elected bishop of Tours. Because of his great kindness, his benevolence to people and the miracles attributed to him he enjoyed a special esteem and respect. He died in 397.

The St. Martin's stations within walking trail following distances:
Kerkáskápolna - Magyarföld (2 km) - Berki-hill (3.5 km) - Kercaszomor (Szomoróc 9 km) - Domonkosfa/Domanjsevci (11 km)
Kerkáskápolna - Ramocsa (2 km) - Szatta (6 km)

Related gallery

Migratory route recommendation
Learn more about the Events and
Attractions on Facebook!

The St George Abbey of Ják was founded by Marthinus Magnus de Jaak in cca. 1220, and it was consecrated in 1256. Its magnificent recessed doorway is the finest example of Hungary’s Romanesque architecture. The monastery, built adjacent to the church but destroyed in the late 16th century, was the home of Benedictine monks.   .....



Contribute and show Your experience!
Join St. Martin,
walk the paths traveled by!